Serena Williams has never shied away from voicing her opinion, both on and off the court.

Saturday’s U.S. Open final was no different, as she gave the chair umpire a piece of her mind during the match against Naomi Osaka.

Osaka dominated the first set, winning 6-2, and that appeared to take a toll on Williams, who appeared a bit frustrated afterward. It didn’t help when chair umpire Carlos Ramos assessed Williams a violation during the second set. Her coach, Patrick Mouratoglou, flashed her a thumbs-up gesture, and Ramos ruled that she received illegal coaching from her player’s box.

Williams was visibly upset about it afterward, approaching Ramos and saying the following:

“I don’t cheat to win,” she said. “I’d rather lose.”



Source link

LEAVE A REPLY